Home  |  WebMail  |  Contact Us  |  Rules of Procedure  |  Downloads  |  FAQs  |  Useful Links  |  Glossary  |  Sitemap       اردو

Assembly Business

Printer Friendly

Sitting on 6th June 2013

List of Business  |  Summary of Proceedings  |  Resolutions Passed

List of Business




THURSDAY, 6 JUNE 2013 AT 11:00 A.M.

Tilawat and Naat



1.  Oath making by the Members-Elect who have not yet made the oath, if any.


2.  Election of Chief Minister under Article 130(3) & (4) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan.





LAHORE:                                                                                   MAQSOOD AHMAD MALIK

04 June 2013                                                                                     Secretary


Summary of Proceedings

Summary of the Proceedings

Thursday, June, 6th, 2013

(Started at 11:28am)


Rana Muhammad Iqbal Khan, Speaker, assumed the Chair and proceedings commenced with a recitation from the Holy Qur’an and its Urdu translation followed by Naat-e-Rasool-e-Maqbool (PBUH).


The member-elect, Sardar Muhammad Jamal Khan Laghari (PP-245) made an oath as member of the Punjab Assembly and signed the Roll of Members. Mr. Speaker administered the oath.

Election of Chief Minister under Article 130(3) & (4) of the Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan:-

Mr. Speaker announced that fourteen nomination papers were submitted for Ascertainment of Chief Minister as envisaged in Rule 17 of the Rules of Procedure of the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab 1997, out of which thirteen nomination papers were received by 12:30 P.M on 4th June 2013.  

1.         The name of Mian Mehmood ur Rasheed, MPA (PP-151) was proposed by Dr. Murad Raas, MPA (PP-152) and seconded by Ms. Shunila Ruth, MPA (W-370).

2.         The name of Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif, MPA (PP-159) wasproposed by the following twenty six proposal sheets –

Rana Sana Ullah Khan, MPA (PP-70), Raja Ashfaq Sarwar, MPA (PP-1) Mahar Ejaz Ahmad Achlana, MPA (PP-265) Mr. Abdul Waheed Ch, MPA (PP-196) Ch Muhammad Iqbal, MPA (PP-98) Mr. Abdul Majeed Khan Niazi, MPA (PP-262), Ms. Naghma Mushtaq MPA (PP-206) Sardar Atif Hussain Khan Mazari, MPA (PP-250), Mr. Muhammad Asif Bajwa, Advocate MPA (PP-130), Mr. Abdul Rauf MughalMPA (PP-94), Mrs. Zakia Khan MPA (W-298), Mrs. Kiran Imran MPA (W-298), Syed Zaeem Hussain Qadri MPA (PP-154), Dr. Mukhtar Ahmad Bharath MPA (PP-28), Mr. Muhammad Waris Kallu MPA (PP-42), Mr. Asif Saeed Manais MPA (PP-238), Rana Abdul Rauf MPA (PP-279), Ch Muhammad Shafique MPA (PP-296), Malik Nadeem Kamran MPA (PP-221), Mr. Imran Khalid Butt MPA (PP-91), Malik Muhammad Iqbal Channar MPA (PP-272), MPA (PP-272), Mr. Muhammad Asif Malik MPA (PP-41), Rana Mashhood Ahmad Khan MPA (PP-149), Rana Muhammad Arshad MPA (PP-171), Mian Mujtaba Shuja ur Rehman MPA (PP-141) and Sheikh Ala ud Din  MPA (PP-181).


 The Senior Secretary Assembly announced the procedure for ascertainment of the Chief Minister by the method of division as provided in the Rules of Procedure and informed the members about the division numbers. The ringing of quorum bell for five minutes. After that he ordered that all entries to the Chamber and the Lobbies be locked except the two doors to be used for the purpose of division. Then he put both the proposals to the vote of the House and ordered that those members who wanted to vote for Mian Mehmood ur Rasheed should go to the Western Lobby to his left and those who wanted to vote for Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif should go to the Eastern Lobby to his right. The division continued for sometime. Hafiz Muhammad Shafiq Adil, Additional Secretary was appointed as Teller on the Western Lobby and Mr. Khalid Mehmood, Assistant Secretary (Legislation) was appointed as Teller on the Eastern Lobby. After completion of the division, the division lists were submitted by the Tellers to the Secretary Assembly who compiled the result of the division.

Mr Speaker announced the result of the division as under:-

Total No of votes cast 337

No of votes secured by Mian Mehmood ur Rasheed 34

No of votes secured by Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif 300


Mian Muhammad Shahbaz Sharif in his brief address to the Assembly expressed his gratitude to the members who had cast their votes in his favour. He said that power genration is his top proirty. Due to load shedding, economy is at the verge of destruction. he claimed that due to shortage of electricity, tubewells were not working, prices of Urea were rising and the labour related with industry was sitting unemplyed.  He promised to provide all available resorces for betterment of Judiciry. he announced spreading the network of Ashiana Housing society throughout Punjab. he claimed that they are bringing new industrial policy and would ensure foreign investment in the Punjab. He said that they are introducing Health Insurance card system for each poor families for better health facilities free of cost.


The House was then adjourned sine die.


Resolutions Passed

Not Available
Related Business Files
Audio Audio High Resolution
Text Verbatim Debate [pdf, 654 kb]
Video Video High Resolution



Share with your friends at


Business of the House


About Secretariat

Media Center


About Assembly

Orders of the (Agenda)
Summary of Proceedings
Question List
Verbatim Debates
Performance Statistics
Summoning and Prorogation
Advance Search
Business of the Past Assemblies
Rules of Procedure


Search Archive
Related to Past Assemblies


Legislative Procedure
Government Bills
Private Bills
Passed Bills
Not Passed Bills
Under Consideration
Bills referred to Committees
Bills of the Past Assemblies


Deputy Speaker
Leader of the House
Leader of the Opposition
Government & Opposition
Attendance of Members
Parliamentary Privileges
Members of the Past Assemblies

Sitting Members

Contact Detail
By Name
By District
By Age
By Party
Woman Members
Reserved Seats
Vacant Seats
Birthdays of Members
Membership Statistics
Picture Index
Advanced Search
Address List of Members
Parliamentary Privileges


Organization Setup
Organization Chart
Contact List
Officers of the House
Directory of Employees
Powers and Functions of Officers
Recruitment Rules
Sanctioned Posts
Building of the Assembly
Virtual Tour
Contact Us
Useful Links


Catalog of Books
Online Union Catalog
Library Committee
Library Rules


Press Releases
Assembly News
Picture Gallery
Press Gallery Committee
Reporst & Publications


Public Information Officers
Procedure to obtain information
Categories of information
Annual Reports
Facilities available for obtaining information


Committee System
Standing Committees
Other Committees
Committee Notifications
Reports Laid
Bills referred to Committees
Rules about Committees
Finance Committee Rules
Committees of Past Assemblies


An Overview
Functions of the Assembly
Legislative Support Program
Building of the Assembly
Term of the Assembly
Virtual Tour