Legislatures, all over the world, necessarily formulate a framework and procedural guidelines so as to direct and monitor their indoor working, and steer the proceedings and business in the House in a democratic and productive manner. The conduct of business in the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab, by whatever name called, has throughout been regulated by the relevant provisions of the Constitution and the rules of procedure framed, from time to time, either by the Governor or the Assembly itself.

The current Rules of Procedure of Provincial Assembly of the Punjab were made by the Governor and adopted by the Assembly on June 25, 1997. These rules have been amended from time to time and its revised editions are printed every time substantial changes occur thereto; the last version was printed in July 2018.

Mr Parvez Elahi, Speaker, Provincial Assembly of the Punjab, taking special initiative and interest, constituted Special Committee No.12 to review the Rules of Procedure of the Provincial Assembly of the Punjab 1997. On the recommendations of this Committee, the current Assembly has made some historic changes in these Rules for the empowerment of the Assembly and its Committees and the credit must go to the visionary leadership of Mr Speaker. These changes include introduction of Production Order of Members in custody, increase in the number as well as membership of Standing Committees, introduction of two new Committees, i.e. PAC-III and Committee on Law Reforms, enhancing the effectiveness of parliamentary tools of Resolutions and Adjournment Motions, restructuring of zero hour notices on the analogy of Call Attention Notice, fixing the number of Supplementary Questions; and above all, giving the powers to Committees to oversee their relative departments. The Speaker has also been empowered to order procedural changes in the Rules through Standing Orders on the analogy of Senate.

This edition incorporates these historic developments and has been published to facilitate the hon'ble Members, Government Departments and functionaries as well as researchers and general public.



Lahore: Muhammad Khan Bhatti

December 2020 Secretary